Isle of Man planning history
How many dated planning records are in the published archive, and how the recorded outcomes differ. This is historical coverage, not a live picture of applications awaiting a decision.
Read the coverage first
17,561 dated records · first decision 2011-01-04 · latest decision 2023-12-29.
These dates describe the evidence, not today’s market or the date this page was updated. Annual bars are records in this archive, not a claim of complete annual applications.
2017 is missing from the published source files. The chart and table leave it unreported rather than showing a fall to zero.
Records by decision year
2011-01-04 to 2023-12-29 · Records
Counted by the stated decision date, not by when an application was received. A missing year is not zero activity. First and last years may be incomplete; changes can reflect archive coverage.
Read the values and sample counts
| Period or area | Records |
|---|---|
| 2011 | 1,825 |
| 2012 | 1,760 |
| 2013 | 1,465 |
| 2014 | 1,300 |
| 2015 | 1,391 |
| 2016 | 1,371 |
| 2017 | Not reported |
| 2018 | 1,312 |
| 2019 | 1,419 |
| 2020 | 1,543 |
| 2021 | 1,339 |
| 2022 | 1,450 |
| 2023 | 1,386 |
Received dates are not supplied
This archive does not support an applications-received timeline, a current backlog, or time-to-decision calculations. Decision dates and reference numbers are not substitutes for received dates.
Reported outcomes in the dated archive
2011-01-04 to 2023-12-29 · Records
The outcome stored for each dated record, not a forecast or the chance of getting permission. Missing outcomes remain unclassified; appeals are shown separately on the appeals page.
Read the values and sample counts
| Period or area | Records |
|---|---|
| Permitted or no objection | 15,396 |
| Refused | 1,465 |
| Withdrawn | 468 |
| Outcome not reported | 232 |
How the counts are made
Each application reference is counted once. Duplicate rows: 0; conflicting references excluded: 0; rows without a reference excluded: 0; unique records without a valid decision date: 0.
Invalid and future dates are excluded. No dates are inferred from the reference or today’s date. No applicant names, owner details or addresses are needed for these aggregates.
Source: Isle of Man Government planning application data, reused under the Open Government Licence. Search the underlying application archive.